Academics


As mentioned in the “Types of Programs” section, the program type you choose will affect what kind of credit (direct credit vs. transfer credit) you will receive. Please review this information carefully.

To find programs abroad that suit your major, you can use the “Field of Study” search tool on our programs page. This will show you education abroad programs that offer coursework in English in your field. Once you've reviewed your program options, you can follow-up with your Education Abroad advisor for further advice.

Getting Courses Approved

You can find the course catalogs for our partner universities on their respective brochure pages. Please be aware that, depending on the country, the credit system may be different. Please review our credit conversion guide section for more information.
  • Once you’ve narrowed down your program choices, you will take a list of courses you’d like to take abroad to your academic advisor(s) for approval. We recommend getting approvals for at least twice as many courses as you actually plan on taking, as classes abroad can fill up or get cancelled. If you do not yet have an academic advisor, please consult the list of advisors at the bottom of this page.
  • Once applied, you can enter these course approvals into your personal study abroad page for later viewing.
  • It is also possible to take coursework to satisfy your Liberal Studies, General Elective, and diversity requirements while abroad. The process for these approvals will be outlined for you once you’ve applied.

Who to Contact for Course Equivalencies

Students should contact the department that represents the discipline in which you want an equivalency.  So, a psychology major that wants credit for a biology class should contact the biology department.


Anthropology
Contact the SBS Academic Services Office
x6540
SBS West, Room 114
Sbs.advisor@nau.edu

Applied Indigenous Studies
Contact the SBS Academic Services Office
x6540
SBS West, Room 114
Sbs.advisor@nau.edu

Art
Jason Hess (Ceramics courses only)
x2398
Jason.Hess@nau.edu
Prof. Tom Patin (all other Art courses)
X4612
Tom.Patin@nau.edu

Art History
Alexandra Carpino
x3753
alexandra.carpino@nau.edu

Athletic Training
Eva Johnson
x0291
eva.johnson@nau.edu


Biology
Biology Advisement Center
Teresa Lane
Biological Sciences Bldg., #21, Room 258-259
928/523-9304
Teresa.Lane@nau.edu

Biology Minors
School of Earth Science and Environmental Sustainability (ENV & GLG)
and Biology minors
Danielle Shipley
Biological Sciences Bldg. #21, Room 132
928/523-1716
Danielle.Shipley@nau.edu

Business
Contact the Business Academic Services Office
x5232
College of Business, Room 1
fcboas@nau.edu

Chemistry
Katie Sherer
Biological Sciences Bldg. #21, Room 132
928/523-5194
Katie.Sherer@nau.edu

College of Arts and Letters
Secondary Education

Steven Maierson
x1792
Steven.Maierson@nau.edu

Communications
Contact the SBS Academic Services Office
x6540
SBS West, Room 114
Sbs.advisor@nau.edu
Note: If going to Hanze University in The Netherlands, contact Rich Rogers at x2530
or Richard.Rogers@nau.edu. If going to NHTV Breda in The Netherlands, contact Paul Helford at x9312 or Paul.Helford@nau.edu.  Once you have met with Dr. Rogers and Dr. Helford, communicate your approvals to the SBS Academic Services Office

Criminal Justice
Contact the SBS Academic Services Office
x6540
SBS West, Room 114
Sbs.advisor@nau.edu

Civil & Environmental Engineering
Megan Duskey
Engineering Bldg., #69, room 122
928/523-5191
Megan.Duskey@nau.edu

College of Health & Human Services (all majors except Nursing)
Eva Johnson
x0291
eva.johnson@nau.edu

Computer Science
Julie Thurston
Engineering Bldg., #69, room 122
928/523-9089
Julie.Thurston@nau.edu

Construction Management
Megan Duskey
Engineering Bldg., #69, room 122
928/523-5191
Megan.Duskey@nau.edu

Dental Hygiene
Eva Johnson
x0291
eva.johnson@nau.edu

Education
Education Advisement Center
X2611
Eastburn Education Bldg. Rm 101

Electrical Engineering
Julie Thurston
Engineering Bldg., #69, room 122
928/523-9089
Julie.Thurston@nau.edu

English
Dr. Angela Hansen
x4911
Liberal Arts Bldg. Rm 308
Angela.Hansen@nau.edu
Dr. John Rothfork
X0559
Liberal Arts Bldg. Rm. 142
John.Rothfork@nau.edu
Ted Johnson
x2446
Liberal Arts Bldg., Room 305

Environmental Science/Studies
School of Earth Science and Environmental Sustainability (ENV & GLG)
and Biology minors
Danielle Shipley
Biological Sciences Bldg. #21, Room 132
928/523-1716
Danielle.Shipley@nau.edu

Exercise Science
Biology Advisement Center
Teresa Lane
Biological Sciences Bldg., #21, Room 258-259
928/523-9304
Teresa.Lane@nau.edu

French
Erika Hess
x6676
Babbitt Academic Annex, Room 211
Erika.Hess@nau.edu

Geology
School of Earth Science and Environmental Sustainability (ENV & GLG)
and Biology minors
Danielle Shipley
Biological Sciences Bldg. #21, Room 132
928/523-1716
Danielle.Shipley@nau.edu

Geology
School of Earth Science and Environmental Sustainability (ENV & GLG)
and Biology minors
Maureen Fray
Biological Sciences Bldg. #21, Room 132
928/523-2880
Maureen.Fray@nau.edu

German
Dr. Marilya Reese
X9638
Babbitt Academic Annex, Room 218
Marilya.Veteto.Reese@nau.edu

Health Sciences (except Nursing)
Christopher Jensen
X2671
Nursing Bldg

History
Dr. John Leung
x6209
John.Leung@nau.edu

Hotel & Restaurant Management
Dr. Paul Wiener
x9995
HRM Bldg. Rm 5
Paul.Wiener@nau.edu
Kim Knowles
x9587
HRM Bldg. Rm 111
Kim.Knowles@nau.edu

Humanities
Prof. Gioia Woods
x8168
Riles Bldg. Rm 130
Gioia.Woods@nau.edu

Mathematics & Statistics
Katie Sherer
Biological Sciences Bldg. #21, Room 132
928/523-5194
Katie.Sherer@nau.edu

Mechanical Engineering
Marie Sather
Engineering Bldg., #69, room 122
928/523-5172
Marie.Sather@nau.edu

Music
Rick Stamer
x2606
Performing and Fine Arts Bldg., Room 120

Nursing
Eva Johnson
x0291
eva.johnson@nau.edu

Parks and Recreation
Contact the SBS Academic Services Office
x6540
SBS West, Room 114
Sbs.advisor@nau.edu

Physical Education Services
Roger Bounds
x6159
roger.bounds@nau.edu

Philosophy
Christopher Griffin
x9079
Liberal Arts Bldg. Rm 104
Christopher.Griffin@nau.edu

Photography
Contact the SBS Academic Services Office
x6540
SBS West, Room 114
Sbs.advisor@nau.edu

Physics
Katie Sherer
Biological Sciences Bldg. #21, Room 132
928/523-5194
Katie.Sherer@nau.edu

Political Science
Contact the SBS Academic Services Office
x6540
SBS West, Room 114
Sbs.advisor@nau.edu

Psychology
Contact the SBS Academic Services Office
x6540
SBS West, Room 114
Sbs.advisor@nau.edu

Public Health
Eva Johnson
x0291
eva.johnson@nau.edu

Religious Studies
Jason BeDuhn
x8892
Riles Bldg. Rm 110
Jason.BeDuhn@nau.edu

Sociology & Social Work
Contact the SBS Academic Services Office
x6540
SBS West, Room 114
Sbs.advisor@nau.edu

Spanish
Non-majors:
Juliana Suby or Prof. Roberto Serpas
x8977 x7633
Babbitt Academic Annex, Rm 313 Babbitt Academic Annex, Rm 317
Juliana.Suby@nau.edu Daniel.Serpas@nau.edu
Majors:
Ed Hood or Dr. Bob Neustadt
X9635 x2411
Babbitt Academic Annex, Room 213 Babbitt Academic Annex
Edward.Hood@nau.edu Robert.Neustadt@nau.edu

Theater
Kathleen McGeever
x4500
Performing and Fine Arts Bldg. Rm 120E
Kathleen.McGeever@nau.edu


Women's Studies
Contact the SBS Academic Services Office
x6540
SBS West, Room 114
Sbs.advisor@nau.edu