Skip to content

International Communications Minor

Recommended EA Programs for International Communication Minors

The following are Exchange programs made possible by a partnership between NAU and the host university. We send students there, they send students to us! On these programs, you pay your home tuition, and NAU Merit Scholarships (Blue, Gold, Dean’s, President’s, and Lumberjack) come with you! As an exchange student, you become deeply immersed in the culture of your host city and university. For ISEP programs, you will pay NAU tuition, housing and meal stipend in place of the international prices abroad.

A minor is earned in conjunction with a bachelor's degree.  To receive a minor (18 to 24 units) at Northern Arizona University, you must complete a planned group of courses from one or more subject matter areas with a cumulative grade point average of at least 2.0. At least 12 units of the minor must be unique to that minor and not applied to any other minor. To participate in the international component of this minor, you must:

  • Have earned at least sophomore status with a grade point average (GPA) of at least 2.5  
  • Have completed COM 101 and COM 200 (the 6-unit communication core) with grades of "C" or better
  • Meet the standards established by NAU's Center for International Education for participating in an international exchange plan
  • Apply and be approved for admission to an international exchange plan sanctioned by NAU's School of Communication

Exchange opportunities for this minor include programs in communication campaigns, international public relations, media program management, media marketing, imagineering, and interactive multimedia concept development. Other programs may be accepted. 

Minor Requirements

  • Take the following 18 - 24 units with a Grade of "C" or better in each course, with at least 12 units in upper-division courses:
    • Multiple units from COM 223 and COM 323 (These units transfer from the international host school) (12-18 units)
    • CST 323 (3 units)

Select one course from the following (3 units):

ANT 102ANT 103ANT 301
CST 321CST 323
ES 300
HIS 102
POS 361
REL 150
WGS 360

Please note that you must consult with your academic advisor and the Office of International Studies before embarking on a Study Abroad plan. In addition, you must have approval to transfer study abroad credits into COM 223 and COM 323 before engaging in a Study Abroad plan. Be aware that some courses may have prerequisites that you must also take. For prerequisite information click on the course or see your advisor.

This list is not exhaustive – we support other types of programs as well! Check out or Communication Programs to explore. Make an appointment with the regional adviser to discuss what programs best fit your personal, financial, and academic needs.

Africa and the Middle East

The American University in Cairo, Egypt
Nelson Mandela University, South Africa

Asia and South Pacific

Curtin University (CU), Perth, Australia 
Flinders University, Adelaide, Australia
Murdoch University, Perth, Australia
James Cook University (JCU), Townsville, Australia
University of Technology Sydney (UTS), Sydney, Australia
University of Wollongong, Wollongong, Australia
University of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia 
University of South Australia, Adelaide, Australia
Hong Kong Baptist University (HKBU), Hong Kong, China
Shantou University, Shantou, China
Taylors University (Taylor's), Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Hanyang University (ERICA Campus), Ansan, South Korea

Latin America

Universidad San Francisco de Quito (USFQ), Ecuador
Universidad San Ignacio de Loyola - USIL, Peru
ISEP Argentina: Universidad Blas Pascal – Cordoba (Intermediate – High Spanish)
ISEP Argentina: Universidad del Salvador – Buenos Aires (Intermediate – High Spanish)


Thompson Rivers University

Central and Eastern Europe

University of New York in Prague (UNYP), Czech Republic
Technische Universität Dortmund, Germany
DEREE-The American College of Greece (also available: Global Track Visual Communications)
Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences, Netherlands
Breda University of Applied Sciences (BUAS), Netherlands 
Hanze University Groningen, Netherlands

Northern Europe and Scandinavia

Coventry University, Coventry, England
Leeds Beckett University, Leeds, England 
Manchester Metropolitan University, Manchester, England
Nottingham Trent University, Nottingham, England
University of Essex, Colchester, England
University of Leeds, Leeds, England
University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, Scotland
Jonkoping University, Jonkoping, Sweden
Orebro University, Orebro, Sweden
Swansea University, Swansea, Wales

Western Europe

Sciences Po Toulouse, France
Universidad Pablo de Olavide, Spain
Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain